Minutes of Meetings

GFWC Woman’s Club of Tarpon Springs, Inc.

General Meeting

October 18, 2017

President Trish Gregory called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. Chaplain Bonnie Laforme gave the Devotional and Pledge of Allegiance.

New Board Members introduced were President-Elect, Teddy Stephen; 1st Vice President and Membership Chair, Priscilla Kowasic; 2nd Vice President, in charge of luncheons, Dee Isguzar; Recording Secretary, Sheila Hayter (Sheila is also on the GFWC Elections Committee); Corresponding Secretary, Barbara Micheln; Treasurer, Sherri Patterson. Our Directors are Sharon Walling, Dolores LaPointe, and MaryAnn Cozzens. Sue McCubbin is our Parliamentarian.

Our GFWC Florida Past President, Carole Weaver attended. She is also the GFWC LEADS Chairman and Karen Morris is on the LEADS committee. Karen is also our past GFWC FL Member at Large. 

Also present were past District Directors Barbara Wood and Trish Gregory. Past Club Presidents are Barbara Wood, Betty Purchase, Dolores Wilson, Sherry Orr, and Anne-Todd Eisner.

Former member, Carole Mathes was back and rejoining the club.

Various guests were introduced.

Trish Gregory noted that members were wearing the color purple to create awareness of the problem of Domestic Violence.

It was also noted that October was World Food Month, with the donations from the day going to the Shepherd Center.

Bonnie LaForme was presented with her 50 year pin as a GFWC club member by Trish Gregory and Carole Weaver.


The business had to do with the CAP (Citizens’ Alliance for Progress) Health Fair. For more than 10 years, our club has been supplying backpacks and school supplies to the children who come for their annual physicals. We always have some backpacks left over and these have typically been stored at the home of a member, who gave them to CAP as needed for the year. This member passed away this year and the backpacks are currently stored at the Friends of the Library building. Some board members felt that these backpacks should be donated to an organization such as the Farmworkers’ Self-Help Group in Dade City (one of our charities). Since the backpacks have been donated by the members of this club, approval was need by the membership in order to donate them to another organization. There was a motion made by Dee Isguzar to donate the leftover backpacks to a charitable organization. Carole Weaver seconded the motion. The motion was passed by the membership.


Guest Speaker:  Noelle Clark, JD, U.N. Representative gave an inspiring talk about Empowerment for Women.


October 25, 2017 is the annual Fun Day when members and guests get together for many different games and crafts. The cost of the event is $20.00

Collect:  Members recited the Collect


The meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.